Dean's Image

Welcome Message from the HOD

The Faculty of Science is located within the core of the Main Campus, Samaru. It was established at the founding of the Ahmadu Bello University in 1962. The Faculty started with six departments and has grown over the past forty nine years into not only one of the largest faculties in the University with nine degree awarding departments, but also one of the largest faculties of science in any Nigerian University. The foundation Departments were Botany, Chemistry, Geography, Mathematics, Physics and Zoology. The Departments of Botany and Zoology were later merged into the Department of Biological Sciences. The Departments of Geology and Microbiology were created in 1969 followed by Biochemistry in 1975 and Textile Science and Technology in 1980. It is of interest to note that the present Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences as well as the Department of Chemical Engineering were conceived and nurtured in the Faculty of Science. The Centre for Energy Research and Training and the Computer Centre were also formerly part of the Faculty of Science.

Latest News & Events

  • PUTME 2015/2016

    Please ignore any call for Post UTME Screening registration by anybody. Any correspondence will be via this Website. you will be informed in due course

  • Notice of the 10th Annual General Assembly (AGA)

    Notice is hereby given that in accordance with Article 6 of Constitution, the 10th AGA of our Association comes up Saturday, 15th August, 2015 by 10:00 am at the Senate Chamber, ABU Main Campus, Samaru Zaria. As usual, accreditation of delegates will start on Thursday 13th August 2015 and close 12:00 noon Saturday, 15th August, 2015

  • 2015/2016 Division of Agric Colleges HND/ND and Pre-ND Forms

    The Division of Agricultural Colleges, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria wishes to inform the general public that it has commence the sale of forms into HND, ND and Pre-ND 2015/2016 session click there to apply

Click here to view all of the latest news and events »